Worth Itby Betteroo

Drinking · Months 18 to 24

Toddler water bottles: one for the bag, and an open cup at home.

A sealed bottle earns its place on outings, in the stroller and the bag. At home, the AAP’s advice points to an open cup. So most toddlers need one good bottle, not a shelf of them.

  • 2 picks, 3 skips
  • Recall-checked Oct 2026
  • Includes the $0 option

Independent picks. If you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission; as an Amazon Associate, Betteroo earns from qualifying purchases. It never decides what makes the list. How we choose

The short answer

Most toddlers need one sealed bottle for outings, and that’s the whole decision. For the bag, the Thermos Baby 10 oz: the lid covers the straw. For a toddler who still holds a cup with both hands, the Munchkin Cool Cat, which has handles. Both are labeled 18 months and up, and both are in our Budget band.

At home and at meals, keep using an open cup: the AAP says it’s healthiest for children to drink from an open cup by about 2 years of age. On October 5, 2026 we checked both picks’ live US listings, price bands and the CPSC recall database.

At a glance

Two bottles for a toddler

Before you buy

What a toddler bottle has to do

A common mistake is buying a bottle that’s rated for an older child. Many kids’ bottles are labeled 3 and up, so check the age on the listing first.

We assess both picks on the same things: the age on the label, how much they hold, the lid, handles, and how they clean.

Rated for the age

Both picks are labeled 18 months and up.

Closes for the bag

A lid that covers the straw between drinks.

Cheap

Both are in our Budget band.

The picks

Why each one made the list

01
For the bag

Thermos Baby 10 oz Straw Bottle

Push the button and the straw pops up. Close it and the lid covers the straw.

Thermos Baby 10 oz Straw Bottle
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 5, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

A small insulated steel bottle from Thermos’s baby range, labeled for 18 months and up. It keeps cold drinks cold for 12 hours, the push-button lid opens with one hand, and the contoured body is shaped for small hands to grip (listing). The lid closes over the straw, so the straw stays clean in a bag.

Why it’s worth it

  • Lid covers the straw
  • Keeps drinks cold for 12 hours (listing)
  • Top-rack dishwasher safe
Worth noting: It’s for cold drinks only (listing), it has no handles, and at 10 oz it may need a refill on a long day out. Steel costs more than a plastic bottle.

Key specs

Age range
18 months and up
Holds
10 oz
Lid
Push-button lid over the straw
Handles
None
Cleaning
Top-rack dishwasher safe

From the amazon.com listing, checked October 5, 2026.

Safety check

  • No recalls found in the CPSC recall database (searched by product name, Oct 5, 2026). Thermos’s April 2026 CPSC recall covered Stainless King food jars and Sportsman bottles (models SK3000, SK3020 and SK3010), not this straw bottle.
02
With handles

Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple

An insulated steel straw cup with two handles and a flip-top lid.

Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 5, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

Double-walled stainless steel that keeps drinks cool for up to 15 hours, with a flip-top lid, a spill-proof straw and two easy-grip handles, for 18 months and up (Munchkin). The handles make it the easier of the two for a toddler who still holds a cup with both hands.

Why it’s worth it

  • Two handles
  • Keeps drinks cool up to 15 hours (maker)
  • The lowest price on this page
Worth noting: It holds 8 oz, the least here. The lid has a sealing ring with a pull tab that has to line up with a gap in the lid, or it can leak (listing), so check it each time you put it back together. Neither Munchkin nor the listing says it’s dishwasher safe.

Key specs

Age range
18 months and up
Holds
8 oz
Lid
Flip-top lid over the straw
Handles
Two
Cleaning
Not stated by Munchkin or on the listing

From Munchkin’s product page, then the amazon.com listing, checked October 5, 2026.

Safety check

  • No recalls found in the CPSC recall database (searched by product name, Oct 5, 2026). Munchkin’s past CPSC recalls were bath toys, pacifiers and clips, and a bottle warmer, not cups.

Side by side

Two picks side by side

Thermos Baby 10 oz Straw Bottle
Thermos Baby 10 oz Straw Bottle
Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple
Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple
JobThe bag bottleWith handles
Price bandPrice band: BudgetPrice band: Budget
Age on label18 months and up18 months and up
Holds10 oz8 oz
Keeps cold12 hours (listing)Up to 15 hours (maker)
HandlesNoneTwo
CleaningTop-rack dishwasher safeNot stated

Which one is yours

Start with your situation

Under 18 monthsNot yet. Both are labeled 18 months and up. Use an open cup or a straw cup.

Thermos Baby 10 oz Straw Bottle

Out all day, bag and strollerThe Thermos.

Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple

Still holds a cup with both handsThe Cool Cat.

At the tableAn open cup. No bottle needed.

Munchkin Cool Cat Stainless Steel Straw Cup, 8 oz, Purple

Want to spend the leastThe Cool Cat, by a little.

The $0 version

At home, an ordinary small cup with a little water in it, refilled as needed. On a short outing, bring your own water bottle and a small cup from the kitchen, and offer sips. The AAP says plain water is the healthiest drink for your child.

A small cup from the kitchen, and your own bottle for refills.

What we would skip

Three things we’d leave on the shelf

They’re in every kids’ drinkware aisle. Here’s why we’d pass.

Skip

Bottles labeled 3 and up, for now

Many kids’ bottles are rated for preschoolers. Contigo’s Kids AUTOSPOUT listing, for example, says ages 3 and up. Buy for the age on the label.

Skip

Juice or milk in the bottle all day

The AAP links cavities to teeth that are constantly bathed in milk, formula or juice, and says to fill a sippy cup only with plain water. Keep milk for meals.

Skip

A cupboard of spares

One good bottle and a cup at home covers most days. Buy a second only if you find yourself washing the first one twice a day.

What we passed on

  • Zak Designs Kelso Toddler Cups, 2-pack. The top seller in Amazon’s search for toddler water bottles on October 5, 2026, and cheap. Its listing gives no age range, so we can’t say who it’s for.
  • Contigo Kids AUTOSPOUT Straw Water Bottle, 14 oz. Its listing says ages 3 and up. Contigo’s 2019 and 2020 CPSC recall (CPSC) covered its Kids Cleanable Water Bottles.
  • BEABA Stainless Steel Straw Sippy Cup. Labeled 8 months and up, so it’s a learning cup more than an outings bottle, and at $24.99 it cost more than either pick.

Questions parents ask

FAQ

When can a toddler use a water bottle?

Both of our picks are labeled 18 months and up. Before that, offer an open cup or a cup with a straw, which the AAP says you can start as early as 6 months.

How much water does a toddler need?

The AAP suggests 1 to 4 cups (8 to 32 oz) of water a day from 12 to 24 months, and 1 to 5 cups (8 to 40 oz) from 2 to 5 years.

Doesn't the AAP say to avoid valves?

It says many sippy cups have a valve under the spout, so children have to suck to drink, much like a bottle, and that if you prefer a sippy cup, you should choose one with no valve (AAP). Its advice is about learning to drink, and it says it’s healthiest to drink from an open cup by about 2. So we’d use a sealed bottle for outings and an open cup at home.

Can I put milk in it?

The AAP says to fill a sippy cup only with plain fluoridated water. We’d do the same with a bottle and serve milk in a cup at meals.

Why trust Worth It

How we choose

Checked and sourcedEvery pick is checked against the maker's own age and weight limits and the CPSC recall database. Where safety guidance applies, we link the AAP, CPSC, FDA or NIH source right next to the advice.
The $0 option, alwaysMost problems have a $0 answer. It goes on the page, even when it costs us the sale.
A skip list with sourcesAdd-ons and traps we would leave on the shelf, with the guidance behind every safety call, plus the products we passed on and why.
Picked for an agePicks follow what babies actually do each month, not what is on sale this week.

We don’t run a product lab, and we won’t pretend we do. Worth It picks are researched from makers’ instructions, retailer listings and official safety guidance, not lab-tested. Each is chosen for a specific age and a specific job, the way a friend a couple of years ahead of you would choose: a few products, each with a reason, and an honest note on what could go wrong.

We check every listing on amazon.com for a live US offer and sort it into a price band: Budget (under $30), Mid-range ($30 to $100) or Premium (over $100). We don’t print exact prices because they change daily. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission. That pays for this, and it never decides what makes the list.

For safety, we search the CPSC recall database by product name, and we note the US safety standard the maker says a product meets. Where the maker doesn’t say, we tell you what the law requires for that kind of product. The JPMA’s certification list (now run by the Baby Safety Alliance) isn’t publicly searchable, so we only mention certification when the maker states it. Specs come from the maker first, and the Amazon listing second.

Last checked October 5, 2026: prices, stock, specs and recalls

Keep going

More from Worth It