Worth Itby Betteroo

Feeding · Months 12 to 24

Toddler snack containers: one for the table, one with a lid for the bag.

A snack cup lets a toddler serve themselves without tipping the whole bag onto the floor. One flap cup covers most days. A lid only matters if the cup lives in your bag.

  • 2 picks, 3 skips
  • Recall-checked Oct 2026
  • Includes the $0 option

Independent picks. If you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission; as an Amazon Associate, Betteroo earns from qualifying purchases. It never decides what makes the list. How we choose

The short answer

Most toddlers need one flap-top snack cup, and that’s the whole decision. The Munchkin Snack Catcher is rated 12+ months, has two handles and costs the least. If the cup rides in your bag, the OXO Tot Snack Cup adds a lid that snaps on. Both are in our Budget band.

Whichever you buy, the snack is eaten sitting down. The AAP says to have children sit down when they eat and never let them run, walk, play or lie down with food in their mouths. On October 7, 2026 we checked both picks’ live US listings, price bands and the CPSC recall database.

At a glance

Two snack cups for a toddler

Before you buy

What a snack cup has to do

A common mistake is treating a snack cup as something to carry around. Munchkin’s own caution is not to let the child walk or run while carrying it, and the AAP says to sit down to eat.

We assess both picks on the same things: the maker’s age rating, how much it holds, whether it closes for travel, its handles, and how it cleans.

Self-serve

A soft top a small hand can reach through.

Keeps most of it in

Flaps or petals that hold the snack back when it tips.

Cheap

Both are in our Budget band.

The picks

Why each one made the list

01
At home and in the stroller

Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack

Soft flaps let a hand in and keep most of the snack from pouring out.

Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 7, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

A two-handled cup with a lid of soft, flexible flaps: a small hand pushes in and takes a piece, and the flaps keep the rest in place. It holds up to 9 ounces of snacks and is rated 12+ months (Munchkin). The listing adds a no-slip rubber bottom and top-rack dishwasher cleaning, and the pack has two cups, blue and green.

Why it’s worth it

  • Two handles
  • Rated 12+ months by Munchkin
  • The lowest price on this page
Worth noting: The lid has no cover, so it’s for dry snacks, and crumbs can work their way out of the flaps in a bag. Munchkin says not to microwave, boil or steam-sterilize it, and to replace it at the first sign of damage.

Key specs

Age range
12+ months
Holds
Up to 9 oz
Lid for travel
None, flaps only
Handles
Two
Cleaning
Top-rack dishwasher safe

From Munchkin’s product page, then the amazon.com listing, checked October 7, 2026.

Safety check

  • No recalls found in the CPSC recall database (searched by product name, Oct 7, 2026). Munchkin’s past CPSC recalls were bath toys, pacifiers and clips, and a bottle warmer, not snack cups.
  • Munchkin’s own cautions: cut food appropriately to reduce the risk of choking, don’t let the child walk or run while carrying it, and don’t leave the child unattended (Munchkin).
02
With a lid, for the bag

OXO Tot Snack Cup with Lid, 2-Pack, Opal and Blossom

A soft petal top for grabbing, and a lid that snaps on for the bag.

OXO Tot Snack Cup with Lid, 2-Pack, Opal and Blossom
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 7, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

Flexible silicone petals let small hands reach in and keep snacks in if the cup is shaken, and the transparent body shows how much is left. A separate lid snaps on to keep snacks contained in a bag or stroller, the angled handle is a closed loop that clips to a bag or stroller, and the lid, top and base come apart and are dishwasher safe (OXO).

Why it’s worth it

  • Snap-on lid for the bag
  • Closed-loop handle clips to a bag or stroller
  • Comes fully apart to clean
Worth noting: It costs several times the Munchkin pair, and neither OXO nor the listing states an age range. The lid is a separate piece, so it can go missing.

Key specs

Age range
Not stated by OXO or on the listing
Holds
Not stated
Lid for travel
Snap-on lid
Handles
One, a closed loop
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe; lid, top and base come apart

From OXO’s product page, then the amazon.com listing, checked October 7, 2026.

Safety check

  • No recalls found in the CPSC recall database (searched by product name, Oct 7, 2026). OXO’s voluntary recall on its site covers the Tot Nest booster seat, not snack cups.
  • The AAP says to have children sit down when they eat, and never let them run, walk, play or lie down with food in their mouths.

Side by side

Two picks side by side

Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack
Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack
OXO Tot Snack Cup with Lid, 2-Pack, Opal and Blossom
OXO Tot Snack Cup with Lid, 2-Pack, Opal and Blossom
JobAt home and in the strollerWith a lid, for the bag
Price bandPrice band: BudgetPrice band: Budget
Age rating12+ months (Munchkin)Not stated
HoldsUp to 9 ozNot stated
Lid for travelNoneSnap-on lid
HandlesTwoOne, a closed loop
CleaningTop-rack dishwasher safeDishwasher safe, comes apart

Which one is yours

Start with your situation

Under 12 monthsNot yet. Serve finger foods on the tray.

Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack

Snacks at the table or in a parked strollerThe Munchkin Snack Catcher.

OXO Tot Snack Cup with Lid, 2-Pack, Opal and Blossom

The cup lives in your bagThe OXO Tot, with its lid.

Munchkin Snack Catcher, 2 pack

Want to spend the leastThe Munchkin pair.

Snacks in the car while you driveWe’d skip it. See below.

The $0 version

A small bowl from the kitchen, with a few pieces at a time, at the table or on the high chair tray. For the bag, any small lidded container you already own; open it when your toddler is sitting down, and pour a few pieces into their hand.

A small bowl at home, a lidded tub from the cupboard for the bag.

What we would skip

Three things we’d leave on the shelf

They’re in every toddler feeding aisle. Here’s why we’d pass.

Skip

A snack cup to walk around with

Munchkin’s caution is not to let the child walk or run while carrying its cup, and the AAP says to have children sit down when they eat. The cup works best on the table or in a parked stroller.

Skip

Snacks in the car seat while you drive

The AAP says to supervise mealtimes for young children, and a driver can’t watch the back seat. We’d keep the snack for the stop.

Skip

Filling it with popcorn, nuts or whole grapes

These are on the AAP‘s list of foods to keep from children until 4 years of age or older, depending on the child. Round, firm foods like grapes can be served if completely chopped into tiny pieces.

What we passed on

  • Itzy Ritzy Toddler Snack Cup. A soft silicone flap lid with handles, the same idea as the Munchkin, at $8.98 for one cup on October 7, 2026, against $3.75 for the Munchkin pair.
  • Ubbi Tweat Snack Container. A weighted base and an attached lid, at $9.97 for one container on October 7, 2026, more than twice the Munchkin pair.
  • PackIt Freezable Snack Box. A top seller in Amazon’s search for toddler snack containers, but it’s a lunch-box tub for an adult to pack and open, not a cup a toddler serves from.

Questions parents ask

FAQ

When can a toddler use a snack cup?

The Munchkin Snack Catcher is rated 12+ months by Munchkin. OXO doesn’t state an age for its Tot Snack Cup. Before then, finger foods go on the high chair tray.

Are snack cups spill-proof?

Not fully. The flaps and petals hold most of the snack in, but neither cup seals, so crumbs can get out. The OXO’s separate lid keeps it closed in a bag.

What snacks are safe in a snack cup?

Small, soft pieces your child can manage. The AAP advises cutting food for young children into pieces no larger than one-half inch, and keeping high-risk foods such as nuts, popcorn and whole grapes from children until 4 years of age or older, depending on the child.

Can my toddler carry a snack cup around?

We’d say no. Munchkin’s caution is not to let the child walk or run while carrying its cup, and the AAP says children should sit down when they eat.

Why trust Worth It

How we choose

Checked and sourcedEvery pick is checked against the maker's own age and weight limits and the CPSC recall database. Where safety guidance applies, we link the AAP, CPSC, FDA or NIH source right next to the advice.
The $0 option, alwaysMost problems have a $0 answer. It goes on the page, even when it costs us the sale.
A skip list with sourcesAdd-ons and traps we would leave on the shelf, with the guidance behind every safety call, plus the products we passed on and why.
Picked for an agePicks follow what babies actually do each month, not what is on sale this week.

We don’t run a product lab, and we won’t pretend we do. Worth It picks are researched from makers’ instructions, retailer listings and official safety guidance, not lab-tested. Each is chosen for a specific age and a specific job, the way a friend a couple of years ahead of you would choose: a few products, each with a reason, and an honest note on what could go wrong.

We check every listing on amazon.com for a live US offer and sort it into a price band: Budget (under $30), Mid-range ($30 to $100) or Premium (over $100). We don’t print exact prices because they change daily. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission. That pays for this, and it never decides what makes the list.

For safety, we search the CPSC recall database by product name, and we note the US safety standard the maker says a product meets. Where the maker doesn’t say, we tell you what the law requires for that kind of product. The JPMA’s certification list (now run by the Baby Safety Alliance) isn’t publicly searchable, so we only mention certification when the maker states it. Specs come from the maker first, and the Amazon listing second.

Last checked October 7, 2026: prices, stock, specs and recalls

Keep going

More from Worth It