Worth Itby Betteroo

Feeding · Months 6 to 12

Baby spoons, bowls and bibs: the four things, not the forty.

Starting solids needs a spoon that won’t hurt gums, a bowl they can’t throw, and a bib that catches the drop. Everything else can wait until you miss it.

  • 4 picks, 3 skips
  • Recall-checked Oct 2026
  • Includes the $0 option

Independent picks. If you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission; as an Amazon Associate, Betteroo earns from qualifying purchases. It never decides what makes the list. How we choose

The short answer

Buy a soft spoon, a suction bowl and a pocket bib, then stop. Our picks: the Olababy spoons, the ezpz Tiny Bowl, and the Bumkins SuperBib. To spend the least, swap the bowl for Munchkin’s three-pack. Add anything else only when you actually miss it.

Start solids when your baby shows the signs of readiness, usually around six months: good head control, and able to sit up in a high chair or feeding seat (AAP).

At a glance

Four things for starting solids

Before you buy

What first-foods gear has to do

A common mistake is buying the forty-piece starter kit. The honest list is a spoon that won’t hurt gums, a bowl they can’t throw, a bib that catches what drops, and a chair, which has its own Worth It list.

We assess every pick on the same three things: whether its listing rates it from six months, how it cleans, and what it costs.

Gentle on gums

A soft silicone spoon tip, sized for a baby’s mouth.

Easy to clean

One piece, or few pieces, and dishwasher safe where the listing says so.

Cheap

All four are in our Budget band.

The picks

Why each one made the list

01
The spoon

Olababy Soft-Tip Training Spoons, 2 pack

Soft silicone with a leaf-shaped tip that scoops from any angle.

Olababy Soft-Tip Training Spoons, 2 pack
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 1, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

All silicone, with a flexible leaf-shaped tip that scoops from any angle, and a base that lets the spoon stand upright on the tray (listing). Two in the pack, because one will be on the floor.

Why it’s worth it

  • Soft silicone tip
  • Scoops at any angle
  • Stands upright, out of the mess
Worth noting: The handle is short and fat, made for a baby to hold, so it’s an awkward spoon for you to feed with. Keep a long-handled spoon for that.

Key specs

Age range
6 to 18 months
Material
Silicone
In the box
2 spoons
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe

From the amazon.com listing, checked October 1, 2026.

Safety check

02
The bowl

ezpz Tiny Bowl

A bowl and placemat in one piece that suctions to the tray.

ezpz Tiny Bowl
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 1, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

The bowl is molded into a silicone mat that suctions to the high chair tray, so the whole thing stays put when it’s grabbed, and it fits all high chair trays, according to the listing. It’s sized for a six-month-old rather than a toddler.

Why it’s worth it

  • Bowl and mat in one piece
  • Suctions to the tray
  • Dishwasher safe
Worth noting: Suction only works on a smooth, dry surface. Wooden trays and textured plastic defeat it, so test it on your tray the day it arrives.

Key specs

Age range
6 months and up
Material
Silicone
In the box
1 bowl with a suction mat
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe

From the amazon.com listing, checked October 1, 2026.

Safety check

03
If you want to spend the least

Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowls, 3 pack

Three bowls in three sizes, each with a suction base.

Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowls, 3 pack
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 1, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

Three different-sized bowls with a suction base under each (listing). They grip less firmly than a one-piece mat, but there are three of them, which matters when one is always in the dishwasher.

Why it’s worth it

  • Three bowls in one pack
  • The lowest price on this page
  • A useful size for every stage
Worth noting: The suction base holds less firmly than a full silicone mat, and a determined baby can learn to pop it off, so expect the occasional launched bowl.

Key specs

Age range
6 months and up
Material
Plastic, suction base
In the box
3 bowls in 3 sizes
Cleaning
Not stated on the listing

From the amazon.com listing, checked October 1, 2026.

Safety check

  • No recalls found in the CPSC recall database (searched by product name, Oct 2, 2026). Munchkin’s past CPSC recalls were other products, including a bottle and food warmer.
04
The bib

Bumkins SuperBib, 3 pack

A pocket that catches what they drop, in a fabric that wipes.

Bumkins SuperBib, 3 pack
Price band: BudgetCheck price on Amazon

Checked Oct 1, 2026: price, stock, specs, recalls

Thin waterproof fabric with a pocket at the bottom that catches what’s dropped. It wipes clean at the table and goes in the washing machine when it needs to; Bumkins recommends hang-drying (listing).

Why it’s worth it

  • Pocket catches what’s dropped
  • Waterproof, thin fabric
  • Three in the pack
Worth noting: It’s fabric, so it needs washing rather than just a rinse after a messy meal, and hang-drying takes time, which is why three in a pack is about the right number.

Key specs

Age range
6 to 24 months
Material
Waterproof polyester fabric
In the box
3 bibs
Cleaning
Wipe, or machine wash and hang dry

From the amazon.com listing, checked October 1, 2026.

Safety check

Side by side

Four picks side by side

Olababy Soft-Tip Training Spoons, 2 pack
Olababy Soft-Tip Training Spoons, 2 pack
ezpz Tiny Bowl
ezpz Tiny Bowl
Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowls, 3 pack
Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowls, 3 pack
Bumkins SuperBib, 3 pack
Bumkins SuperBib, 3 pack
JobSpoonBowl that stays putCheapest bowlsBib that catches
Price bandPrice band: BudgetPrice band: BudgetPrice band: BudgetPrice band: Budget
Age on listing6 to 18 months6 months and up6 months and up6 to 24 months
MaterialSiliconeSiliconePlastic, suction baseWaterproof polyester fabric
CleaningDishwasher safeDishwasher safeNot stated on the listingWipe, or machine wash and hang dry

Which one is yours

Start with your situation

Not sitting up well yetWait. Nothing here expires.

Olababy Soft-Tip Training Spoons, 2 pack

Starting with pureesThe spoon and a bowl.

Bumkins SuperBib, 3 pack

Going straight to finger foodsA bowl and the bib. The spoon can wait.

Wooden or textured traySkip the suction bowl. Food straight on the tray.

Munchkin Stay Put Suction Bowls, 3 pack

Want to spend the leastThe Munchkin three-pack.

The $0 version

A metal teaspoon works for purees as long as you’re the one holding it. A plain bowl works if you accept it will be launched. An old burp cloth tucked into the collar does the bib’s job, and food can go straight on a clean high chair tray.

A teaspoon, a bowl and a burp cloth will do this week.

What we would skip

Three things we’d leave on the shelf

They’re in every first-foods aisle. Here’s why we’d pass.

Skip

The forty-piece first foods kit

Mesh feeders, food mills, freezer trays, six bowls and four spoons. You’ll use the spoon and one bowl. Buy the basics and add more only when you miss something.

Skip

Baby food makers

A blender you already own, a fork and a steamer basket do the same job, without a second appliance on the counter.

Skip

Full matching dinnerware sets, this early

A baby starting solids uses one bowl and their hands. Cutlery comes later, when they start grabbing your spoon.

What we passed on

  • ezpz Mini Mat. A good self-feeding plate, but at six months the smaller Tiny Bowl does the job. It’s a pick for a little later.
  • Grabease Self-Feeding Spoon and Fork. Good first cutlery for a fist grip, but we’d wait until your baby starts grabbing the spoon.
  • Bumkins Silicone Grip Dish. A divided suction plate that suits finger foods, but its suction ring is smaller than a full mat’s, so we picked the mat-style bowl.

Questions parents ask

FAQ

When can a baby start solid foods?

Usually around six months, when your baby shows the signs of readiness: good head control, and able to sit up in a high chair or feeding seat (AAP). Ask your pediatrician if you’re unsure.

What spoon is best for starting solids?

A soft silicone spoon with a small, shallow tip, like the Olababy. Keep a long-handled spoon for you to feed with.

Do suction bowls work?

On a smooth, dry tray, yes. On wood or textured plastic they don’t hold, so test yours the day it arrives and put food straight on the tray if it won’t stick.

How many bibs do I need?

About three pocket bibs, so one can dry while another is in use.

Why trust Worth It

How we choose

Checked and sourcedEvery pick is checked against the maker's own age and weight limits and the CPSC recall database. Where safety guidance applies, we link the AAP, CPSC, FDA or NIH source right next to the advice.
The $0 option, alwaysMost problems have a $0 answer. It goes on the page, even when it costs us the sale.
A skip list with sourcesAdd-ons and traps we would leave on the shelf, with the guidance behind every safety call, plus the products we passed on and why.
Picked for an agePicks follow what babies actually do each month, not what is on sale this week.

We don’t run a product lab, and we won’t pretend we do. Worth It picks are researched from makers’ instructions, retailer listings and official safety guidance, not lab-tested. Each is chosen for a specific age and a specific job, the way a friend a couple of years ahead of you would choose: a few products, each with a reason, and an honest note on what could go wrong.

We check every listing on amazon.com for a live US offer and sort it into a price band: Budget (under $30), Mid-range ($30 to $100) or Premium (over $100). We don’t print exact prices because they change daily. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission. That pays for this, and it never decides what makes the list.

For safety, we search the CPSC recall database by product name, and we note the US safety standard the maker says a product meets. Where the maker doesn’t say, we tell you what the law requires for that kind of product. The JPMA’s certification list (now run by the Baby Safety Alliance) isn’t publicly searchable, so we only mention certification when the maker states it. Specs come from the maker first, and the Amazon listing second.

Sources for this page

Last checked October 1, 2026: prices, stock, specs and recalls

Keep going

More from Worth It